TikTok announced today that it is making changes for users under age 18 to strengthen their privacy and security. Starting today, TikTok is changing the default privacy setting to private for user accounts between the ages of 13 and 15. With a private TikTok account, only a person that the user has approved as a follower will be able to view their videos.
Another change the company made was to tighten the options for commenting on videos created by the under-16s. The Everyone option has been removed from the comment settings, now the user accounts age 13-15 s will only be able to choose between ‘No one’ or ‘Friends’ for their accounts.
The dueting and stitching settings are also changed and these features are made available only for content created by users aged 16 and over. For users aged 16-17, the default setting for Duet and Stitch is set to Friends only.
When it comes to downloading videos, only videos shared by users aged 16 and over are now allowed to be downloaded. For users aged 16-17, the default setting will remain Off unless enabled.
TikTok also turned the “Recommend your account” option Off by default for user accounts aged 13-15.
These changes are not the first time TikTok has made young users’ accounts. Previously, with different changes, it brought limitations to the in-app capabilities of younger users. Some of these changes were restricting live streams and direct messaging to ages 16 and over, restricting sending, purchasing, and accepting virtual gifts to those aged 18 and over, and allowing parents to put restrictions on their kids’ TikTok experience through Family Pairing Mode.